‘This isn’t gym class!’ … Oh, wait…

So, since I started this blog, I’ve pretty much just been failing left and right. Failing to eat better, failing to exercise, failing to update.

Well, in the last three weeks, I’ve been eating better. Buying food and, you know, cooking it. With pots and pans and casserole dishes. My goal starting with April is to limit my meals out to four a month. Once a week. Of course, the rest of this month might be kind of tough, since I blew through Chinese takeout Monday and had a craving for a Wendy’s bacon cheeseburger (very notably: NOT the baconator) Sunday.  But I think I’ll make it.

The next big thing is exercise. I’ve decided to take a little trip back to gym class. Despite always been overweight and nowhere near as fit/coordinated/whatever as large portions of my high school gym classes, I always liked gym. Sure, I generally hated the parts that were just running because I was always behind and dying, but after that, we played games and it was fun.

But more importantly, I liked the way I felt as the year went on. My sit-ups got higher, my pushups got better, I got significantly more bendy, and one of my greatest accomplishments that came near the end of my final year of taking gym was being able to jog an complete lap around the track. It was only a quarter mile and I was huffing and puffing by the time I was done with it, but it was the first time I hadn’t had to walk part of the first lap in my life. And it felt good.

I’m about 11 years removed from gym class and about 70 pounds heavier, and I’m not about to go running my ass around a track. But I AM going to try to get back in that model of exercising.

So, the plan is: every other day I’m going to stretch, do a series of sit-ups/crunches and try my damnedest to do some pushups (or, at the very least, hold myself in one of those positions and not my head for the amount of time it would take an actual fit person to do 10 pushups) and then hop on the bike. No, a quarter-mile on a stationary bike is absolutely nothing, so I think I’m going to go for a mile.

Really, a mile isn’t much of anything, either, but it’s all warm-up. Because after that comes the fun part. What was once a variety of team games that I wasn’t particularly good at but enjoyed anyway, will now become Wii!Fit games for at least 30 minutes.

The way I figure it, is that’s fun. It’s something I’ going to want to do, and the bit of actual exercise at the top has a component that I don’t necessarily have to measure, because it’ll be things for which I can FEEL improvement.  How’d those sit-ups go? Did I actually get any real push ups in that set? Did I keep an even speed on the bike, and how’d I feel at the end?

And, yes, I recognize that this is not a lot of exercise. But I lead a fairly sedentary life I need to start slow and build up.  So, while I’m planning to spend the better part of this month with my WiiTime being the myriad balance games and WiiFit Plus games, I’m going to try to use some of that time for the yoga and strength-training sorts of things. And in May, I may try to switch the frequency so I’m spending more time on the actual exercisey bits of WiiFit and less time on the little games.

Likewise, I’ll probably be upping my bike time as time goes on. I imagine it will be awhile before my sit-up and pushup regimen changes.

Because I am Marshmallow Fluff Girl.

Leave a Reply

